We are excited to feature one of our favorite Portland artists, Gayle Weisfield. In her exhibit, No Reservations, Gayle will show her beautiful landscape watercolors. Gayle works primarily with transparent watercolor. Her subjects range from the natural scenery of the Columbia River Gorge, in which she lives, to the architectural beauty found in Thailand, Rome, and beyond. 

Gayle Weisfield, Artist Statement

Rather than be a reporter of what I see, I work to interpret the essence of the scene in a style I describe as “conceptual realism”. I seek an active relationship between artist and viewer by creating mystery with lost and found edges allowing the viewer an opportunity to sue their imagination. With fine detail and refined brush work, I invite the viewer to move closer to the piece to enjoy the beautiful subtleties offered by the fluid nature of transparent watercolor. To me a successful work must exhibit the intrigue and complexity to spark the viewer’s curiosity and hold their interest over time.

Artist receptions and First Friday events on August 3 and September 7, 2012, 5-9 p.m. No Reservations runs through September 30, 2012.

Image: Small Town USA

