The always popular and prolific Michael Orwick will be showing in the Gallery during the months of December and January. Michael’s ability to capture the subtle nuances of familiar locations throughout the Northwest and beyond, make his work highly desirable. Michael’s mastery of capturing light and mood is well known. Be sure to  visit the Gallery during his show to see his beautiful work.

Biography
Michael Orwick’s paintings seem to evoke a time when things might have been more peaceful, quiet and subdued. The gauzy, old world feel of his familiar landscapes are in contrast to some of his more illustrative work. One might be surprised (and delighted) to learn that Orwick started out at Will Vinton Studios (of California Raisin fame) as an animator, later moving into illustration. Orwick describes his style as “inspired expressionism” hoping to draw you into the painting and revisit it many times over.  Orwick resides in Portland.

Artist Statement
I want to create paintings that reflect the beauty and strong ties I feel to the area, where I and seven generations of family before me grew up.

“Oh, beauty, ever ancient and ever new.” (Saint Augustine). I want my paintings to capture the magic and wander I felt as I discovered the forested trails in the hills surrounding town, and breathed the damp air with its very cognitive feeling of being enveloped in lush green life, and the sweet musk of decomposition as old stumps give rise to saplings and innumerable ferns. I want to capture the filtered dappled light making its way to the path just before leading me in, bidding me to explore the next bend just over the moss covered log.

My style has developed as a unique hybrid of elements from the artists and paintings I love. When people talk about my art they use word like “impressionistic” or “painterly,” which comes from my years studying the French impressionists and my deep fondness for the early California Impressionist painters. I love artwork that feels spontaneous yet controlled, like a thoughtful acknowledgement to what is being seen and felt.

People also use words like “relaxing,” “nostalgic,” and “timeless” to describe my pieces. This may indeed reflect my focus to overcome a deep seated fear of having my art feel dated or trendy. Years ago I began to ask myself what was the art that drew me in, which styles did I connect with most, and I noticed it wasn’t about an era or a movement… The art I like is about light and shadow, about atmosphere, and about conveying the special feeling of being in a certain place at a given time of day.

Images:
Hug Point, 30 x 40, inches, Oil
Christine’s New World, 48 x 60 inches, Oil

