Believe it or now, First Friday is coming ’round again! We will have a brand new show featuring painters JM Brodrick and Sally O’Neill. In addition we have LOTS of new pottery, jewelry, sculpture, and even hand crafted one-of-a kind pens. First Friday starts at 5 p.m. and goes until 9 p.m. There is plenty of parking throughout Troutdale and most businesses participate. Plan to come early and dine at one of Troutdale’s many great eateries. (See our blog post for more information on restaurants in Troutdale.)

JM Brodrick

Oregon artist, JM Brodrick studied painting and classical music as a youth. Her Grandmother, who was also a Peets-Broderick-18x24-acrylicprofessional artist, guided her love of the arts. “My Grandmother helped me connect with other artists and shaped me at an early age to express myself with painting.” In 1977 she moved to Fairbanks, AK where the rugged lifestyle and freedom of the open country inspired her to further develop her artistic talents. Brodrick will show a variety of subjects. Shown here: Peet’s

Sally O’Neill
O'Neill-Sunshine and Daisies-8x10-OilSally’s plein air and studio paintings reflect her enthusiasm for life and an appreciation for her subject matter. “As soon as I started painting with oils I knew I had found the perfect medium to express my artistic vision. As an admirer of the impressionists, I am obsessed with light, color and atmosphere. Through the layering of colors and texture I’m trying to achieve the effects of light at different times of the day. I want my paintings to bring the viewer into a world they would love to be in, that of beauty and sun drenched days.” Shown here: Sunshine and Daisies

New in the Gallery! Donna Yde – Metal Wall SculptureMetal Sculpture_Donna Yde
We are pleased to have the work of Donna Yde back in the Gallery. Donna is a metal artist from Idaho who creates lovely floral wall art. We have a nice variety of her pieces right now so if you’re looking for a special gift, these might be perfect.

Artist and Caswell sculpture student, Debby Scott, will show a variety of her paintings and mell.five.jpgsculptures. “My life has been a study of contrasts. All along seeing the world in patterns. My art reflects my eclectic interests and my love of figures, emotion and movement.” I usually start with my camera. Capturing quirky angles, strong compositions, and patterns that evoke a visceral response. Then the fun begins. The translation into alla prima oil strokes, or the transformation of clay into bronze to tell my story. Shown here: Five

Entertainment from 6-9 p.m. by guitarist and singer, Bryan Arakelian.

Free Wine Tasting by Phelp’s Creek Winery!

Rip has made a lot of progress on the Ascending Christ monument, commissioned by the Diocese of Wichita and slated for the Ascencion Cemetery in Wichita, KS. This sculpture is the third to be commissioned by the Diocese and will be installed atop of a 20 foot pillar overlooking the cemetery near the Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception, where Rip’s earlier images of Mary and Joseph and The Crucifixion are installed.

If you are interested in taking one of our sculpture classes, or want to learn more about them, take a look at this short video. Visit our foundry, Firebird Bronze for additional class details.

