Gorge Crest Vineyard ViewThe paintings of Sally O’Neill are vibrant and impressionistic. Her subjects include landscapes and still life. We’re happy to report we have quite a selection of her work in the Gallery right now.

A native of Southern California, Sally O’Neill has lived in the foothills of the Northern Oregon Cascade Mountains since 1991. As a child, she enjoyed painting and drawing in addition to music studies. She majored in music in college and is an accomplished pianist. Sally worked in the medium of watercolor for a period of time in the 1980’s. In 1998, Sally went back to painting seriously working solely in oils.

“As soon as I started painting with oils I knew I had found the perfect medium to express my artistic vision. As an admirer of the impressionists, I am obsessed with light, color and atmosphere. Through the layering of colors and texture I’m trying to achieve the effects of light at different times of the day. Overall, I want my paintings to bring the viewer into a world they would love to be in, that of beauty and sun drenched days.”

O’Neill’s plein air and studio paintings reflect her enthusiasm for life October Sunsetand an appreciation for her subject matter. O’Neill has been the recipient of numerous awards. Her work can be seen in a number of private as well as corporate collections. She also teaches group workshops in addition to private art students.

We think her work has wide appeal. Visit the Gallery and take a look. You might just find the perfect piece to give for Christmas.

Image: Gorge Crest Vineyard View; October Sunset